loadingfloor.blogg.se

How to compress bass
How to compress bass












Thanks for the suggestions on where to look to for sources of unwanted bass frequencies. I understand dynamics and I’m trying to improve my playing but as someone with a critical ear, I’m trying to improve my bands sound and from the amateur recordings I have made, I think the bass is high on the list of areas to improve sound. Im afraid I have given the perception I just picked up a stringed instrument for the first time. I have high-passed everything but the kick drum. I have picked up the concept of allowing proper frequency spaces for the appropriate instruments.

how to compress bass

Your use of the descriptor “overly pillowy low end” is exactly what I hear sometimes in our mix.

how to compress bass

I have zero experience but have read a lot of posts and I have watched a lot of YouTube tutorials. I have been elected to run the PA system. But the problem often originates somewhere else.ĭoes your band manage its own sound and if so, do you have a bandmate with live sound mixing experience?Ĭlick to expand.This a useful information, thank you so much. IME, when the band doesn't know how to control their flooded basement, the bassist usually catches everyone's side-eye. You'll be swimming against a riptide to deliver clear low end when you have drums, keys, bedroom-tone guitars, and/or FOH subs spilling into multiple stage mics. But I also want to make sure the drums are well tuned and that the keys and guitars aren't going crazy with their lows. On any system that offers, I'm putting high-pass filters on almost everything.

how to compress bass

  • listen for low frequency bleed into any open stage mics (especially vocal mics and drum overheads).
  • listen to the other instrument channels (and stage amps) for low end that is masking the kick and bass.
  • listen critically to just the bass cab and/or DI send for overly pillowy low-end.
  • Hard to troubleshoot live sound via the internet, but hearing "overwhelming low frequency thrum" onstage wouldn't immediately send me looking for a bass comp. Click to expand.Does your band manage its own sound and if so, do you have a bandmate with live sound mixing experience?














    How to compress bass